Mom’s mathri

photo (40)

Crispy and flaky anytime snack

Mathris made by my mother are my favorite snack!   Every time I visit home, my mother will make these for me.  I enjoy eating mathris with my morning coffee or as an evening snack.  Karn and Ria enjoy these with tomato ketchup.  This time on my recent visit to Delhi, I watched my mother make these and recorded her recipe.

What you need:

2 cups of fine sooji (if fine sooji is not available, then use 1 1/2 cup regular sooji and 1/2 cup maida)

1 tsp carrom seeds (ajwain)

5 tbsp Oil/ghee (or as needed to crumble the flour)

Oil for frying

Salt to taste

How to make:

1.  Add salt to the sooji flour and then add oil or ghee to the flour in order to crumble it.

2.  Now add enough water to the flour in order to make a semi soft dough. Cover and keep aside for a couple of hours.

3.  Make small balls from the dough and flatten them and roll them into into rounds of about 2″ diameter.

4.  For variation, we can roll out the dough into a big round shape of about 6″ diameter.  Then with a knife cut into sticks about 1/2″ width and 3″ long.

5.  Lightly prick the mathris with a fork so that they do not rise like puris.

6.  Deep fry on medium heat till golden.  Drain and let them cool.

6.  Store in an airtight jar.

Leave a Reply

